Children learn sudoku most easily on a smaller grid, and few apps offer one. Sudoku Master's listing includes 6x6 grids next to the standard 9x9, and Guru's Sudoku Puzzle: Brain Games lists 6x6 grids with 3x2 boxes. MobilityWare's Sudoku starts new players on smaller, color-coded puzzles, and its Apple Arcade edition has no ads or purchases. Sudoku Royale, our own app, is not the right first app for a young child: it has no kids mode, no small grids, and its App Store age rating is set for older players because it includes contests.
The App Store facts
| App | Price and ads | Paid options listed | US rating | Last update | Devices |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sudoku by MobilityWare+ | Apple Arcade subscription, no ads | None listed | 4.8 from 32,497 ratings | August 12, 2026 | iPhone, iPad, Apple Vision |
| Sudoku Color by MobilityWare | Free, ads, no in-app purchases | None listed | 4.8 from 34,922 ratings | August 6, 2026 | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Vision |
| Sudoku Master | Free, ads (remove for $6.99) | Sudoku Premium $7.99, No Ads $6.99, Sudoku Premium $39.99 | 4.7 from 17,466 ratings | October 3, 2026 | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Vision |
| Sudoku Puzzle: Brain Games | Free, ads, in-app purchases | Sudoku Pro - 1 Week $2.99, Sudoku Pro $7.99, Monthly Subscription $2.99 | 4.9 from 92,448 ratings | September 4, 2026 | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Vision |
| Sudoku: Brain Puzzle Games | Free, ads (remove for $4.99) | Sudoku Weekly Subscription $1.99, Sudoku Monthly Subscription $4.99, Sudoku Yearly Subscription $15.99 | 4.8 from 313,688 ratings | October 22, 2026 | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Vision |
| Sudoku Royale | Free, no in-app purchases | None listed | 4.8 from 11 ratings | October 23, 2026 | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Vision |
From each app's US App Store listing, checked October 26, 2026. Prices and paid items change, so check the listing before you buy.
What matters for a child, app by app
Two questions decide whether a sudoku app suits a child. Can they actually solve something on day one, which usually means a 4x4 or 6x6 grid? And is the app safe to hand over: no ads aimed at adults, no easy purchases, no play with strangers? The table answers both from each App Store listing.
| App | Smaller grids | Ads | Paid items listed | Online play with others | "Data Used to Track You" |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sudoku by MobilityWare+ | Starts on smaller puzzles (listing) | None (Apple Arcade) | None; needs an Apple Arcade subscription | Not stated | No |
| Sudoku Color by MobilityWare | Starts on smaller puzzles (listing) | Yes | None listed | Not stated | Yes |
| Sudoku Master | 6x6, plus 9x9 and 16x16 (listing) | Yes | Sudoku Premium $7.99, No Ads $6.99, Sudoku Premium $39.99 | Not stated | Yes |
| Sudoku Puzzle: Brain Games (Guru) | 6x6 with 3x2 boxes (listing) | Yes | Sudoku Pro - 1 Week $2.99, Sudoku Pro $7.99, Monthly Subscription $2.99 | Not stated | Yes |
| Sudoku: Brain Puzzle Games (OAKEVER) | Not stated | Yes | Sudoku Weekly Subscription $1.99, Sudoku Monthly Subscription $4.99, Sudoku Yearly Subscription $15.99 | Multiplayer tournaments (listing) | Yes |
| Sudoku Royale | No, 9x9 only | None | None listed | Optional live matches | No |
Start small: 4x4 and 6x6 grids
A full 9x9 sudoku asks a child to keep nine digits, nine rows, nine columns and nine boxes in mind at once. A 6x6 grid uses the digits 1 to 6 and boxes of two rows by three columns, so the same rules work with far fewer things to track. Many children can solve one after a few minutes of explanation, and the step up to 9x9 is easy once the idea of "each number once per row, column and box" is second nature.
Sudoku Master lists 6x6, 9x9 and 16x16 grids, five difficulty levels and full offline play, which is handy in a car. Guru's app lists "9x9 and 3*2 grids", notes, undo and a dark theme. Both show ads and sell premium options, so read the next section before handing either one over. Neither app's listing says it has a 4x4 grid; for the very youngest, a printed 4x4 puzzle is still the simplest start, and our printable sudoku page has sheets you can print.
Color as a stepping stone
MobilityWare's Sudoku is built around color: its listing says it starts you on smaller puzzles "until you get the hang of logic", with colored grids it calls easy on the eyes. That suits a child who is not yet confident with numbers. The app comes in two versions. Sudoku Color by MobilityWare is free and its App Store age rating notes advertising. Sudoku by MobilityWare+ is part of Apple Arcade, so it has no ads or in-app purchases, but you need an Apple Arcade subscription. If your family already has one, it is the cleanest choice on this page. Our MobilityWare alternatives page looks at both editions.
A parent's checklist
- Ads. Free puzzle apps often show full-screen video ads chosen for adults. On the listing, look for "Contains: Advertising" in the age rating box or a "No Ads" purchase. Every free app in the table except Sudoku Royale shows ads.
- Purchases. Check the In-App Purchases list. Weekly subscriptions and hint packs are one tap away for a child. Turn on Ask to Buy in Family Sharing, or block in-app purchases in Screen Time, before you hand the device over.
- Playing with strangers. OAKEVER's listing mentions live tournaments with players around the world. Sudoku Royale has optional matched live games against other players. If that is a concern, choose an app whose listing describes solo play only.
- Tracking. Sudoku Color by MobilityWare, Sudoku Master, Sudoku Puzzle: Brain Games and Sudoku: Brain Puzzle Games have a "Data Used to Track You" heading in the App Store privacy section. Apple's privacy section on each listing shows this before you download.
- Age rating. It is on every listing, near the top of the page. It reflects what the developer declares, including contests and advertising, not how hard the puzzles are.
Where Sudoku Royale fits
Plainly: it is not a children's app. It has no kids mode, no smaller grids and no picture or color puzzles, and its age rating reflects that it includes contests. What it does have may suit an older child or teenager who already knows 9x9 sudoku and wants to get better. There are no ads and nothing to buy, so there is no purchase screen to wander into. No account is needed. The Journey teaches one technique per chapter, from "First Steps" to hidden singles and beyond, and the hints name the technique rather than giving away the answer. The live matches are optional and can simply be ignored. If that describes your child, Sudoku Royale is on the App Store. For a younger beginner, start with one of the apps above. Adults learning alongside them may like our apps for beginners.
The short version
For a young child: a 6x6 grid first, in Sudoku Master or Guru's app with purchases blocked, or MobilityWare+ if you have Apple Arcade. For an older child who has outgrown that: any good 9x9 app, and ad-free ones are the easiest to trust (see sudoku apps with no ads and apps without a subscription). Every comparison we have written is on the sudoku app comparisons page.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best sudoku app for kids?
One with small grids and nothing risky to tap. Sudoku Master and Guru's Sudoku Puzzle: Brain Games list 6x6 grids; MobilityWare's Sudoku starts on smaller color puzzles, and its Apple Arcade edition has no ads or purchases. Block in-app purchases in Screen Time for any free app.
At what age can a child do sudoku?
Many children can manage a 4x4 grid once they can count and recognize the digits 1 to 4, and move to 6x6 and then 9x9 as the rules become familiar. It is a reasoning puzzle, not a math one, so number skills beyond recognizing digits are not needed.
Is Sudoku Royale suitable for kids?
Not for young children. It has no kids mode or small grids, and its App Store age rating is set for older players because it includes contests. An older child who already plays 9x9 sudoku may enjoy its lessons, and it has no ads or purchases.
Is there a sudoku app with 4x4 grids?
None of the apps compared here lists a 4x4 grid. Sudoku Master and Guru's app list 6x6. For a first try, a printed 4x4 puzzle works well.
Which sudoku apps for kids have no ads?
Sudoku by MobilityWare+ has none because it is part of Apple Arcade, which needs a subscription. Sudoku Royale has no ads or purchases, but it is meant for older players. The free apps with 6x6 grids show ads.
How do I stop my child buying things in a sudoku app?
Turn on Ask to Buy in Family Sharing, or in Settings go to Screen Time, then Content and Privacy Restrictions, then App Store purchases, and set In-App Purchases to Don't Allow. Then check the app's In-App Purchases list on the App Store so you know what it sells.