Most puzzle games we checked can be played without a subscription, but "no subscription" rarely means "nothing to pay". Of the 21 puzzle and brain apps we checked, Sudoku Royale is the only one with no ads and nothing to buy. Good Sudoku sells a single unlock, and Blockudoku a single ad removal. Most of the rest pair a one-time ad removal with coins, hints or lamps you buy again and again. The brain training apps and NYT Games are built around a subscription.
We sorted every app by the names of the paid items on its US App Store listing, and where a name was vague ("VIP Package", "Premium Access") we checked the subscription terms in the description. Where neither says, the table says "unclear" rather than guessing.
The App Store facts
| App | Price and ads | Paid options listed | US rating | Last update | Devices |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sudoku Royale | Free, no in-app purchases | None listed | 4.8 from 11 ratings | October 23, 2026 | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Vision |
| Arcadia Zen Math | Free, ads, no in-app purchases | None listed | 4.9 from 51,915 ratings | September 30, 2026 | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Vision |
| Good Sudoku | Free, in-app purchases | Full Game Unlock $4.99 | 4.2 from 1,332 ratings | July 21, 2025 | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Vision |
| Blockudoku | Free, ads (remove for $14.99) | Blockudoku No Ads $14.99 | 4.7 from 666,207 ratings | October 13, 2026 | iPhone, iPad |
| Nonogram.com | Free, ads (remove for $14.99) | Nonogram.com No Ads $14.99, Tiny Pack of Coins $2.99, Small Pack of Coins $4.99 | 4.6 from 196,139 ratings | September 11, 2026 | iPhone, iPad |
| Number Match | Free, ads (remove for $14.99) | Number Match No Ads $14.99, Number Match Premium Access $3.99, VIP Access for a Single Event $4.99 | 4.6 from 250,720 ratings | September 30, 2026 | iPhone, iPad |
| IQ Boost | Free, ads (remove for $0.99) | Remove Ads $4.99, Pile of Tips $1.99, Mountain of Tips $4.99 | 4.5 from 52,157 ratings | September 22, 2026 | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Vision |
| Brain Out | Free, ads (remove for $4.99) | Key x 10 $1.99, Remove Ads $4.99, Key x 40 $4.99 | 4.6 from 247,738 ratings | August 21, 2026 | iPhone, iPad, Mac |
| Crossmath | Free, ads, in-app purchases | Crossmath Premium $7.99, 4000 Coins $1.99, 1000 Coins $0.99 | 4.9 from 260,142 ratings | October 15, 2026 | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Vision |
| Playdoku | Free, ads, in-app purchases | Coin Pack $1.99, Booster Bundle $6.99, Starter Bundle $6.99 | 4.4 from 107,131 ratings | September 2, 2026 | iPhone, iPad |
| Woodoku | Free, ads, in-app purchases | Package 2 $1.99, Package 5 $4.99, Package 19 $18.99 | 4.7 from 665,754 ratings | October 13, 2026 | iPhone, iPad, Apple Vision |
| Vita Mahjong | Free, ads (remove for $5.99) | Mahjong Ads Remove $5.99, 1.99 $1.99, Monthly Subscription $5.99 | 4.9 from 1.79 million ratings | October 25, 2026 | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Vision |
| Brain Test | Free, ads (remove for $3.99) | VIP Package $3.99, 250 Lamps $1.99, Remove Ads $4.99 | 4.8 from 1.48 million ratings | September 28, 2026 | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Vision |
| Brain Test 2 | Free, ads (remove for $3.99) | VIP Package $3.99, 250 Lamps $1.99, 500 Lamps $2.99 | 4.8 from 229,540 ratings | September 27, 2026 | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Vision |
| Braindom | Free, ads (remove for $2.99) | Diamond Membership $6.99, Remove Ads $2.99, Brian's Choice $4.99 | 4.6 from 167,101 ratings | October 15, 2026 | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Vision |
| Elevate | Free, ads, in-app purchases | Elevate $39.99, Elevate Premium $39.99, 1 Year With 7-Day Trial $39.99 | 4.8 from 545,354 ratings | October 12, 2026 | iPhone, iPad, Apple Vision |
| Peak | Free, ads, in-app purchases | Peak Pro Plan $4.99, Peak Pro Plan $34.99, Peak pro $34.99 | 4.7 from 146,392 ratings | October 26, 2026 | iPhone, iPad, Apple Vision, Apple Watch |
| Lumosity | Free, in-app purchases | Lumosity Premium $11.99, Lumosity Premium $89.00, Lumosity Premium $54.99 | 4.7 from 130,763 ratings | October 15, 2026 | iPhone, iPad |
| Impulse | Free, ads, in-app purchases | Premium Access $6.99, Premium Access $28.99, Premium Access $7.99 | 4.8 from 851,554 ratings | October 19, 2026 | iPhone, Apple Vision |
| MindPal | Free, ads, in-app purchases | MindPal Pro $39.99, MindPal Pro $6.99, MindPal Pro $29.99 | 4.7 from 86,091 ratings | October 20, 2026 | iPhone, iPad |
| NYT Games | Free, ads, in-app purchases | Games - Monthly $5.99, New York Times Crossword Subscription $6.99, Games - Monthly $4.99 | 4.8 from 297,885 ratings | October 21, 2026 | iPhone, iPad |
From each app's US App Store listing, checked October 26, 2026. Prices and paid items change, so check the listing before you buy.
How each app charges
| App | Kind | Subscription | One-time purchase | Consumables |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sudoku Royale | Sudoku | No | No | No (shurikens are earned in play, not sold) |
| Arcadia Zen Math | Math crossword | No | None listed | None listed |
| Good Sudoku | Sudoku | No | Full game unlock | No |
| Blockudoku | Block puzzle | No | Ad removal | None listed |
| Nonogram.com | Nonograms | No | Ad removal | Coin packs |
| Number Match | Number pairs | Unclear: Premium Access items, term not stated | Ad removal | VIP access to a single event |
| IQ Boost | Trick puzzles | No | Ad removal | Tip packs |
| Brain Out | Trick riddles | Unclear: a Weekly Card, terms not stated | Ad removal | Keys |
| Crossmath | Math crossword | Unclear: Crossmath Premium, term not stated | No ad removal named | Coins, hints, tickets |
| Playdoku | Block puzzle | None in item names | No ad removal named | Coin packs, bundles |
| Woodoku | Block puzzle | Not stated | Not stated | Numbered packages, contents not stated |
| Vita Mahjong | Mahjong solitaire | Weekly, monthly, yearly | Ad removal | Items named only by price |
| Brain Test | Trick riddles | Weekly VIP Package, per its terms | Ad removal | Lamps |
| Brain Test 2 | Trick riddles | VIP Package; its listing has subscription terms | Ad removal | Lamps |
| Braindom | Trick riddles | Diamond Membership, weekly, per its terms | Ad removal | Packs, Brain Points |
| Elevate | Brain training | Yes; a free version and a trial | No | No |
| Peak | Brain training | Yes, Peak Pro | No | No |
| Lumosity | Brain training | Yes, Lumosity Premium | No | No |
| Impulse | Brain training | Yes, after a 3-day trial | No | No |
| MindPal | Brain training | Yes, MindPal Pro | A lifetime plan, per its description | No |
| NYT Games | Word, logic and number games | Yes, a Games subscription | No | No |
Nothing to buy
Sudoku Royale is our app, so take this with that in mind: it has no purchases, no subscription and no ads. The only currency, shurikens, is earned by solving and spent on avatar outfits. It is also only one kind of puzzle, classic sudoku, so it fills one slot on your phone, not all of them.
Arcadia Zen Math lists no in-app purchases at all, but its age rating notes advertising, so you pay with your attention instead. It is a calm equation crossword with an offline mode, per its listing.
Pay once and you are done
Good Sudoku sells a Full Game Unlock for $4.99 and nothing else, and its listing carries no advertising label. It is the closest thing on this list to buying a game outright. Blockudoku's only paid item is Blockudoku No Ads at $14.99: the game stays the same, only the ads go. Neither has anything to renew or top up.
One-time ad removal, then consumables
This is the most common model among casual puzzle games. You can remove ads once, but help (hints, tips, keys, coins) is a separate item you buy as you use it up. Nonogram.com, Number Match, IQ Boost and Brain Out all work this way. Nonogram.com, for example, lists Nonogram.com No Ads ($14.99) next to coin packs: Nonogram.com No Ads $14.99, Tiny Pack of Coins $2.99, Small Pack of Coins $4.99, Medium Pack of Coins $9.99 and more. There is no subscription to cancel, but there is also no ceiling on what a heavy hint user can spend.
Two names here are vague. Number Match lists "Premium Access" items, and Brain Out a "Weekly Card"; neither listing explains whether they renew. Check the item in the app before you tap buy.
Crossmath, Playdoku and Woodoku name no ad removal at all. Crossmath sells coins, hints and tickets plus a "Crossmath Premium" tier, Playdoku sells coin packs and bundles, and Woodoku's items are called "Package 1", "Package 2" and so on, with no description on the listing.
A subscription on offer, but optional
Vita Mahjong, Brain Test, Brain Test 2 and Braindom sell a subscription and also a one-time ad removal, so you can avoid the subscription. Vita Mahjong's Mahjong Ads Remove costs $5.99, next to weekly, monthly and yearly plans. Brain Test sells Remove Ads + 1000 bulb for $3.99, while its description spells out a weekly VIP Package with a free trial that renews automatically. Braindom's description says its premium package renews weekly. Cancel a trial you do not want at least 24 hours before it ends, as these listings note.
Subscription first: brain training and NYT Games
Elevate, Peak, Lumosity, Impulse, MindPal and NYT Games make their money from subscriptions. The training apps offer a free tier or trial and put most of the library behind Pro or Premium; MindPal's description also mentions a lifetime plan, the one pay-once route in this group. NYT Games is a New York Times subscription product; Wordle is free to play, and its listing says subscribers can solve the archive of past puzzles. We compare their ads on the brain games without ads page.
Where a subscription is the better deal
- You want dozens of different games. Several brain training apps list 40 or more games in one place. A single-puzzle app cannot match that.
- You live on daily word puzzles. NYT Games bundles the Crossword, Spelling Bee, Connections and more. Nothing here replaces it.
- You would spend more on hints. If you keep buying coin or lamp packs, a flat plan can cost less. Count what you spent last month.
Our pick
If you want a puzzle game that never asks for money, start with Sudoku Royale for logic and add a one-time purchase app like Good Sudoku or Blockudoku if you want more. If you play sudoku mostly, our sudoku apps without a subscription page sorts every sudoku app the same way. See also the best logic puzzle apps, offline puzzle games and our sudoku app comparisons.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which puzzle games have no subscription and no in-app purchases?
Sudoku Royale has neither, and no ads. Arcadia Zen Math lists no in-app purchases but its age rating notes advertising. Every other puzzle app we checked sells something.
Is there a puzzle game you can buy once?
Good Sudoku sells a one-time Full Game Unlock for $4.99. Blockudoku's only item is Blockudoku No Ads for $14.99. MindPal's description also mentions a lifetime plan.
Does Brain Test have a subscription?
Yes. Its listing describes a weekly VIP Package with a free trial that renews automatically. It also sells Remove Ads + 1000 bulb for $3.99 and lamp packs, so the subscription is optional.
Does Vita Mahjong have a subscription?
Its listing sells weekly, monthly and yearly subscriptions, and also Mahjong Ads Remove for $5.99.
What are consumable in-app purchases?
Items you use up and buy again: coins, hints, lamps, keys, tickets. They are not subscriptions, but there is no limit to how much they can cost over time.
How do I check if a game has a subscription before downloading?
Scroll to In-App Purchases on the App Store listing. Words like weekly, monthly, yearly, membership or plan usually mean a subscription. If an item name is vague, read the end of the description, where subscription terms are listed.