NYT Sudoku gives you one puzzle a day in each of three modes (easy, medium and hard) inside the NYT Games app, which sells a monthly Games subscription listed at $4.99 to $5.99 on the US App Store. Sudoku Royale gives you one Daily Challenge plus unlimited practice puzzles at six levels, free, with no ads and nothing to buy. Pick NYT if sudoku is one of several Times puzzles you already pay for; pick Royale if you want more sudoku than three grids a day without a subscription.
One thing to know up front: NYT Sudoku is not a separate app. It lives inside NYT Games next to Wordle, Connections and the Crossword, so the App Store numbers below describe the whole games app, not sudoku alone.
The App Store facts
| App | Price and ads | Paid options listed | US rating | Last update | Devices |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sudoku Royale | Free, no in-app purchases | None listed | 4.8 from 11 ratings | October 23, 2026 | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Vision |
| NYT Games | Free, ads, in-app purchases | Games - Monthly $5.99, New York Times Crossword Subscription $6.99, Games - Monthly $4.99 | 4.8 from 297,885 ratings | October 21, 2026 | iPhone, iPad |
From each app's US App Store listing, checked October 26, 2026. Prices and paid items change, so check the listing before you buy.
The daily puzzle, side by side
The NYT Games listing describes Sudoku in three lines: fill each box with 1 to 9, and play a new puzzle every day in easy, medium or hard mode. The rest of the listing's feature lists are worth reading closely, because Sudoku is missing from them. Stats, badges, the friends leaderboard, the puzzle archive and the hint forums are each listed for named games, and Sudoku is not one of the names.
| Feature | Sudoku Royale | NYT Sudoku (in NYT Games) |
|---|---|---|
| Daily puzzles | One Daily Challenge | Three: easy, medium and hard |
| Puzzles beyond the daily | Unlimited Practice at six levels | Not stated in the listing |
| Past days | Archive back to January 2026 | The listing's subscriber archive names other games, not Sudoku |
| Streaks | Current and best streak | Listed stats and badges name other games, not Sudoku |
| Leaderboard | Friends and world, for the Daily Challenge | Friends leaderboard lists Wordle, Connections, Spelling Bee and the Mini |
| Mistakes in the daily | 3 lives; after that the run is unranked but you can finish, +30 s per mistake | Not stated in the listing |
| Hints | In Practice: names the technique and the cell | Listing's hint forums cover other games |
| Cost | Free, no ads, no purchases | Free download; the app sells a Games subscription |
| Account | Optional, play as a guest | Not stated in the listing |
| Other puzzles | Classic sudoku only | Wordle, Crossword, Connections, Spelling Bee and more |
What you pay for
NYT Games is free to download. Its listing shows several "Games - Monthly" plans and a separate Crossword subscription, and its archive of past puzzles is described as a subscriber feature. The listing does not say which of the three daily sudokus a non-subscriber can play, so check inside the app before you assume either way. Its App Store age rating also notes advertising.
A subscription makes sense when you play several Times games. If you open the app mainly for Wordle and the Crossword, sudoku comes along as a bonus. If sudoku is the only reason you would subscribe, you are paying every month for three grids a day.
Sudoku Royale has no price at all: no ads, no in-app purchases and no subscription. The Daily Challenge, every Practice level, the 88-level Journey and the Dojo drills are open from the first launch, and you do not need an account. The only shop in the app sells avatar outfits for shurikens, a currency you earn by solving.
When three a day is not enough
The NYT format suits a fixed routine: easy over breakfast, hard on the train. Once you finish, you wait until tomorrow. Sudoku Royale's Daily Challenge is a single puzzle, so for the daily ritual alone NYT gives you more. The difference is what sits around it. Practice has unlimited puzzles at Easy, Medium, Hard, Expert, Master and Extreme, with no mistake limit and no countdown, and the higher levels unlock as you solve. Master and Extreme go past a typical "hard": their puzzles call for techniques like X-Wing and XY-Wing.
If you get stuck, Practice has a hint that names the technique and the cell without giving you the number, and links to the lesson for it. The Dojo then drills that pattern on a timer. NYT's listing describes nothing similar for Sudoku.
Where NYT Sudoku is the better pick
- You already subscribe to NYT Games. Sudoku is then part of something you pay for anyway, next to the Crossword and Spelling Bee.
- You want to choose the difficulty of your daily. NYT publishes easy, medium and hard every day. Royale has one Daily Challenge.
- You want one app for every daily puzzle. Royale is sudoku only.
- You want a long track record. NYT Games has been on the App Store since 2009 and has 297,885 US ratings. Sudoku Royale launched in 2026 and has 11 so far.
- You play on Android or the web. Royale is iPhone and iPad only.
Where Sudoku Royale is the better pick
- You only want sudoku. No subscription for a bundle of word games you do not play.
- You want past days. The Daily Challenge archive goes back to January 2026, free.
- You want a streak and a ranking for your sudoku. Royale keeps your current and best streak and ranks your daily time against friends and the world.
- You want to get better, not just play daily. Hints that name the technique, a Journey that teaches one per chapter, and the Sensei coach, which builds practice from your own recent games.
Two limits to know. Royale's Daily Challenge needs an internet connection, and there is no undo button: every number is checked as you place it and a wrong one is rejected.
Which should you choose?
If you pay for NYT Games and like the three-level daily, keep it; the puzzles are a fine routine. If you came to NYT for sudoku and found yourself wanting more puzzles, a free archive or help with harder grids, download Sudoku Royale and play both. More options are in our NYT Sudoku alternatives, the best daily sudoku apps, the sudoku apps without a subscription and every matchup on the comparisons page.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is NYT Sudoku free?
The NYT Games app is free to download, and its App Store listing sells monthly Games plans at $4.99 to $5.99. The listing does not say which of the daily sudokus need a subscription, and it describes the puzzle archive as a subscriber feature. Sudoku Royale is free with no ads, purchases or subscription.
How many sudoku puzzles does the New York Times publish a day?
Three, according to the NYT Games listing: a new puzzle every day in easy, medium and hard mode. Sudoku Royale has one Daily Challenge a day plus unlimited Practice puzzles at six levels.
Can you play old NYT Sudoku puzzles?
The NYT Games listing says subscribers can solve over 10,000 past puzzles, but the games it names for the archive are Wordle, Connections, Strands, Spelling Bee, the Crossword and the Mini, not Sudoku. Sudoku Royale's Daily Challenge archive goes back to January 2026 and is free.
Does NYT Sudoku have a leaderboard?
The listing's friends leaderboard covers Wordle, Connections, Spelling Bee and the Mini, and does not mention Sudoku. Sudoku Royale ranks every Daily Challenge against friends and the world.
Is NYT Sudoku harder than Sudoku Royale?
NYT's hardest daily is labelled hard. Sudoku Royale's Practice goes up to Expert, Master and Extreme, and the top levels need techniques such as X-Wing and XY-Wing, with lessons and drills for each.
Is Sudoku Royale on Android?
No. Sudoku Royale runs on iPhone and iPad only, and its Daily Challenge needs an internet connection.