Peak does a few things its rivals do not, so the right alternative depends on why you are leaving. If it is the ads in the free version or the push toward Peak Pro, the cleanest switch among the big trainers is Lumosity, whose listing has no advertising note, and the cleanest overall is a logic puzzle such as Sudoku Royale (no ads, nothing to buy) or Good Sudoku (one-time unlock). If you rely on Peak on your Apple Watch, its 14 app languages or its under-five-minute Coffee Break, know that no other app on this page runs on the Watch, and that most of them offer far fewer languages.
Peak has been on the App Store since 2014. Its listing describes 45+ games in six categories, daily workouts, skill-based workouts such as Weakest Link and The Total Workout, Advanced Training modules made with scientists and universities, and insights that compare you with people in your age range and profession. This page is less about whether those are good (it is a well rated app) and more about what you give up by leaving.
The App Store facts
| App | Price and ads | Paid options listed | US rating | Last update | Devices |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Peak | Free, ads, in-app purchases | Peak Pro Plan $4.99, Peak Pro Plan $34.99, Peak pro $34.99 | 4.7 from 146,392 ratings | October 26, 2026 | iPhone, iPad, Apple Vision, Apple Watch |
| Elevate | Free, ads, in-app purchases | Elevate $39.99, Elevate Premium $39.99, 1 Year With 7-Day Trial $39.99 | 4.8 from 545,354 ratings | October 12, 2026 | iPhone, iPad, Apple Vision |
| Lumosity | Free, in-app purchases | Lumosity Premium $11.99, Lumosity Premium $89.00, Lumosity Premium $54.99 | 4.7 from 130,763 ratings | October 15, 2026 | iPhone, iPad |
| MindPal | Free, ads, in-app purchases | MindPal Pro $39.99, MindPal Pro $6.99, MindPal Pro $29.99 | 4.7 from 86,091 ratings | October 20, 2026 | iPhone, iPad |
| Impulse | Free, ads, in-app purchases | Premium Access $6.99, Premium Access $28.99, Premium Access $7.99 | 4.8 from 851,554 ratings | October 19, 2026 | iPhone, Apple Vision |
| Sudoku Royale | Free, no in-app purchases | None listed | 4.8 from 11 ratings | October 23, 2026 | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Vision |
| Good Sudoku | Free, in-app purchases | Full Game Unlock $4.99 | 4.2 from 1,332 ratings | July 21, 2025 | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Vision |
| Nonogram.com | Free, ads (remove for $14.99) | Nonogram.com No Ads $14.99, Tiny Pack of Coins $2.99, Small Pack of Coins $4.99 | 4.6 from 196,139 ratings | September 11, 2026 | iPhone, iPad |
From each app's US App Store listing, checked October 26, 2026. Prices and paid items change, so check the listing before you buy.
The free version and Peak Pro
Peak's listing says you can play a basic version for free or upgrade to Pro for the full experience. Its App Store age rating notes advertising, so expect ads in the free version. The paid items on the listing are Peak Pro Plan $4.99, Peak Pro Plan $34.99, Peak pro $34.99, Peak Pro Plan $3.99, and 2 are discounted offers (40% Off Peak Pro Monthly, 40% Off Peak Pro Yearly). If the upgrade offers are what wear you down, that is a fair reason to look elsewhere; a plan you never wanted is not a bargain at any discount.
What Peak has that others may not
Before you uninstall, check this table. The Watch and language columns come from each App Store listing; the session column is what each listing says about short play.
| App | Apple Watch | App languages | Shortest session described | Advertising noted |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Peak | Yes | 14 | Coffee Break, under five minutes | Yes |
| Elevate | No | 1 | A daily workout of 3 to 5 games you choose | Yes |
| Lumosity | No | 1 | Not stated (the Fit Test is 10 minutes) | No advertising note |
| MindPal | No | 2 | Not stated | Yes |
| Impulse | No | 25 | Not stated | Yes |
| Sudoku Royale | No | 1 | One Dojo drill or one Easy puzzle | No ads in the app |
| Good Sudoku | No | 1 | Not stated | No advertising note |
| Nonogram.com | No | 17 | Not stated | Yes |
If you are leaving because of ads
Lumosity
Of the big training apps, Lumosity is the one whose listing has no advertising note in the age rating. It is the closest to Peak in spirit: 40+ games grouped by skill (speed, memory, attention, flexibility, problem solving, math, words), daily personalized workouts, and a free 10-minute Fit Test that compares your baseline with your age group. Its personalized program is behind Lumosity Premium. It runs on iPhone, iPad, not the Watch.
Sudoku Royale
Our app, and the answer if you want no ads at all: there is no ad code in it, nothing to buy and no subscription. It is one game rather than 45, classic sudoku, and that is the trade. For short sessions the Dojo runs timed drills on one technique at a time, from hidden singles to X-Wing, and an Easy puzzle in Practice is a quick sitting. The Daily Challenge gives you a reason to come back each day and a leaderboard with friends, which covers Peak's "compete with friends" in a small way. Limits: iPhone and iPad only, no Watch app, English-only menus, and no Android version.
Good Sudoku
No advertising note on its listing, and a Full Game Unlock for $4.99 instead of a plan. Its listing describes 70,000+ puzzles, five difficulty levels and three daily modes that get harder through the week. It runs on iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Vision.
If you are leaving because of the price of Pro
MindPal is the obvious look: its description lists monthly, yearly and lifetime Pro plans, and its 40 games cover memory, attention, language, math, flexibility, speed and problem solving, much like Peak's categories. Its age rating also notes advertising, so it does not solve the ad question. Nonogram.com is cheaper still if you are happy with one picture puzzle: free with ads, with Nonogram.com No Ads at $14.99 on its listing.
Where Peak is still the better pick
- You train on your wrist. Peak is the only app on this page whose listing includes Apple Watch.
- You play in a language other than English. Peak lists 14; Elevate and Lumosity list English only. Impulse is the multilingual exception, with 25.
- You want emotion and coordination games. Peak's listing names Emotion Control and Coordination workouts; the other trainers' listings do not.
None of this ranks the apps on what they do for your brain; we only compare what they contain and charge. Related pages: Lumosity alternatives, brain games without ads, sudoku for quick games and the full set on sudoku app comparisons. If an ad-free daily puzzle is what you were after, try Sudoku Royale.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Peak have ads?
Its App Store age rating notes advertising, and its listing describes a free basic version next to the paid Peak Pro.
Is there a brain training app like Peak for Apple Watch?
Among the apps compared here, only Peak lists Apple Watch. Elevate, Lumosity, MindPal and Impulse do not, and neither does Sudoku Royale.
What is Peak's Coffee Break?
Its listing describes Coffee Break as a workout for when you are short on time, finished in under five minutes. Elevate's closest equivalent is a daily workout of 3 to 5 games you choose.
Which brain app is most like Peak?
Lumosity and MindPal. Both list around 40 games grouped by skill, daily personalized workouts and score insights. Lumosity starts with a free Fit Test; MindPal lists a lifetime plan.
Is there a free alternative to Peak Pro?
Not among the training apps: each sells a plan for the full library. If one game is enough, Sudoku Royale is free with no ads and no purchases, and Good Sudoku sells a Full Game Unlock for $4.99.
Does Sudoku Royale work on Apple Watch?
No. It runs on iPhone and iPad, and the App Store also lists it for Apple silicon Macs and Apple Vision as an iPad app. There is no Watch app and no Android version.